Majuli Cultural Landscape Management Authority
...Promoting and preserving the rich heritage of Majuli


Office of SDO(Civil), Garamur

Assam came under British rule in 1826, following the Yandaboo Treaty. The British divided Assam into two unoys for administrative convenience-Senior Zone and Junior Zone. Subsequently, Majuli was brought under the junior Commissioner's rule in 1826 and Captain Kooper was the first Joint Commissioner. In 1869, the Jorhat Sub-Division came into being with its headquarters at Rangpur in Sivsagar district. In 1912, the district headquarters of Sivsagar District were shifted to Jorhat and in 1984, Sivsagar district was bifurcated into districts- Jorhat and Sivsagar. With the establishment of the Jorhat Sub-Division, all administrative works were conducted from Jorhat. In 1935, a Tahsildar office was established at Kamalabari, Majuli. In view of the fact that Majuli is geographically isolated, in 1973, all the administrative works of Majuli were entrusted to an Extra Assistant Commissioner and the office was run through the Block office at Kamalabari. On 26th January, 1979, Majuli was declared as a Civil Sub-Division of Jorhat District. The office was run temporarily from the office of the Block Development Officer (BDO) at Kamalabari. On 17th September, 1983 , the then Chief Minister, late Hiteswar Saikia inaugurated the permanent SDO office building at Garamur.

The late Karko Doley was the first Member of the legislative Assembly from Majuli. In the first Assembly elections, in 1952, two MLAs were elected from Majuli, namely, late Nilomoni Phukan from General Constituency and late Ramnath Das from the SC (Reserved) Assembly Constituency. The Majuli Assembly Constituency was included under the Jorhat Parliamentary Constituency till 1971. Later it was included under the North Lakhimpur Parliamentary Constituency.

Thus, prior to Independence, all administrative and developmental works were conducted through the Tahsildar Office at Kamalabari and there was only one police station at that time - the Majuli Police Station (Kamalabari).

After being declared as a Civil Sub-Division under the Jorhat district, a number of important offices were established in Majuli, which are located at Garamur, the Sub-Divisional headquarter and Kamalabari, around 4 kilometers from Garamur.

The Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) is the administrative head of Majuli. The Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) is to be assisted by four Extra Assistant Commissioners, including the Election Officer.